Tuesday, March 8, 2016

a book in review!


Brief Summary:

Alive with intensity, gut-wrenching honesty, moments of humor, and—of course—heart. Not to be missed.”—Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls and The Walls Around Us
A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.
Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.
There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who’s haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner.
Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.


Review: 

Like any avid reader, I have a "to be read" list that's probably a mile long. Whether I'm out and see a cover that interest me or it's one everyone is talking about, I add it to the list in my notes on my iPhone. A week or two before Valentine's Day, I was in the mood to read something a little dark and of substance, I pulled out the list and saw 'My Heart and Other Black Holes'. I headed over to BN.com and iBooks to compare prices and bam it was mine. I started in a was instantly sucked in. I love books where the main character has a strong voice and you can tell that they are definitely going through something. I tend to connect to these characters because I start to see them as my friend. Someone who needs me to help them through the heavy stuff they're carrying on their shoulders. Aysel needed a friend and I couldn't put her story down cause I wanted to be there for her. Her story is very meaningful and should be one that's heard. Everyone feels what she goes through on some level. I loved this story and every high and low it had. It's a story that has points that will make you laugh even though it's a sad story that will way heavy on your heart. I recommend this 5 star book to anyone who wants to read a story that will haunt you and grip at your heart, and your other black holes, xo!