Tuesday, September 18, 2018

#pbtryittuesday with Rodan & Fields Lash Serum


*disclaimer; I was not aware of all of the backlash around this product before I received it as a gift and tried. The gift came from my coworkers for my bday and two of them are actually avid users of the product, but with that being said, here’s my thoughts!

Long lashes are something that I envy. I always want to have the longest lashes known-like touch my brows long and I feel like there’s not one mascara that can actually achieve this for me. (I have recently fallen back in love with Loreal’s Telescopic Mascara which now comes in Carbon Black-hello, win win!)

My coworkers started trying out the R&F serum and after a month or so, I was dying to know their secret! Then for bday, they all went in on a tube (which can last for months since you’re only using a very small amount at a time). Here’s my experience;
 
before wearing Maybelline Falsie Mascara

 
before wearing Maybelline Falsie Mascara 

 
before without mascara

Product Details;
Get the appearance of lush, longer-looking lashes with R+F Lash Boost™, a nightly eyelash serum. You’ll see a difference in as little as four weeks, and the best results in eight weeks. This conditioner can also be used to achieve fuller-looking brows.

My thoughts;
Smell-no smell! Which thank goodness, who wants to put something smelly on their eye lids?!
Feeling-feels cooling when you apply. A small amount goes a very long way! You have to be careful when applying that you don’t get it in your eye. I didn’t have any burning when applying.
Overall-When I first started applying the product, I definitely noticed a change in my lid color-pink/red, esp near my lashes. My eyes didn’t hurt, but when they would itch during the day, I would find I didn’t have relief from itching them, but almost a soreness-think scratching a bruise! Not totally unbearable, but not a pleasurable experience.
Did I see a difference?-YES! I didn’t think I was, but then bam! I had Snap filter lashes.
Will I buy it?-I’m not 100% sure if I would repurchase. I will say there’s still so much in the tube, so it seems to be an every 4-6 month purchase which isn’t bad for the money. I think the long term effects and not knowing is the thing that scares me.
 
after with no mascara

 
two months after wearing Loreal Telescophic Carbon Black Mascara


two months after wearing Loreal Telescophic Carbon Black Mascara

What products do you want to see me try on a Tuesday? Let me know and follow along on IG using #pbtryittuesday, xo!

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Beauty | Transitioning into Fall Mani


I obviously live to do my nails. Like clockwork, you know I'm doing a mani/pedi once a week...seriously, my life feels hectic if I don't. I love when the seasons change cause it's time to bust out polishes I haven't used in a while that I love (After School Boy Blazer, it'll be good to see you sweetie!) So for my first fall mani, I wasn't sure what I wanted to do, but since I was staying a btooth's housesitting while she honeymooned-I decided to see just what she had. Well I went through every polish and started putting aside fall transition shades and bam! this gorgeous combo was dreamed up!





I knew taking these shades and putting them together would lead to a warm mani. I don't do different finger manis often, but when I do, I'm instantly reminded how much I actually love them! What's your fave season for polishes? Do you prefer bright for summer, pastels for spring, darks for winter, or nudes for fall? Let me know. xo!

Monday, September 10, 2018

a book in review! & giveaway

Brief Summary;
Executive, wife, and mother of an outgoing first-grader, Sydney Clayton crushes her day-to-day obligations at work but flounders in the cutthroat world of parental politics.
She manages to avoid the local drama until she’s faced with an ultimatum: join the Forest River PTA or risk her daughter becoming a social outcast. Sydney reluctantly becomes treasurer, and takes the recently vacated position of the president’s sidekick. If protecting the children’s freedom of speech, one best friend ban at a time, isn’t complicated enough, Sydney and her husband receive an unexpected offer for their house they don’t think they can refuse.
Embroiled in the deception and manipulation rife among the elementary school moms, Sydney struggles. Should she sell the home she worked so hard to build in a town where betrayal runs rampant? Or should she stay put to avoid the fallout from uprooting her child? As Sydney focuses on what is best for her daughter, and lets go of her judgments, she finds friendship can develop in very unexpected ways.
Warm, witty, and wise, Go On, Girl dramatizes the dilemmas of life in the suburbs and the bonds shared by women. Perfect for fans of Class Mom and I Don’t Know How She Does It.

Review:
I received this book in exchange for an honest review. If you are looking for your next real life read, look no further! Hilary does an amazing job at not sugar coating real life situations in her 4th novel. Sydney is a likeable lead who will feel like a friend who you're sitting down to have coffee with and catch up. Go On, Girl would make for a great book club read among moms to get dialogues started on how they handle all of their hats (as a dog mom only, I find life to get hard, I could only imagine how human moms do it.) I recommend this 5 star quick weekend read to anyone who is in the need for a dose of suburban life, xo!

To Purchase;


About Hilary;
By day, Hilary Grossman works in the booze biz. By night she hangs out with her "characters." She has an unhealthy addiction to denim and high heel shoes. She's been known to walk into walls and fall up stairs. She only eats spicy foods and is obsessed with her cat, Lucy. She loves to find humor in everyday life. She likens life to a game of dodge ball - she tries to keep many balls in the air before they smack her in the face. She lives on Long Island. 

To find out more of what Hilary is up to check out her Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/HilaryGrossmanAuthor or find her on Twitter https://twitter.com/feelingbeachie

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Beauty | Project Pan by 2019!


I had this idea to pick out 5-10 products I want to hit pan on by 2019. I'm going to compile the products over the next two weeks and then share them with you. If you want to join in, use this hashtag on IG #pbprojectpan -let's get rid of some makeup together, xo!

Also, happy 85th bday to my handsome grandpa who will never read this-haha! :D

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Beauty | #tryittuesday with Monat



I'm a hair care junkie-I'll literally try anything to get my hair to look it's best, so when my IG friend Sarah asked if she could send me a sample or two, I was down! This 4 part system was so intriguing to me. 

Product Details;
MONAT’s ingredients are naturally-based, safe, pure and sustainable. But with other brands recognizing the power of botanical oils, how is MONAT any different? The answer lies in our rich formulations that make these naturally-based ingredients work in harmony with each other, combining and reacting to pump up their natural properties to take MONAT to the next level. We say no to toxic ingredients. 

My thoughts; 
I decided to use the oil to really try to get the full effect. I added the oil and slept in it for not one, but two nights (what can I say, I'm a legit the laziest beauty gal ever.) and then I used the system-two washes, in shower masque, and then conditioner. 


right out of the shower-no frizz!

 
first blow dry and straighten-no makeup/filter (if it wasn't obvious)

 hair holding up in the heat at the btooth's rehearsal dinner

 even after a color, my hair felt great because I prepped it with Monat a week before!

Smell-I will say I wasn't in love with the smell-I prefer a smell that is delicious and will continue to smell good throughout the day. The smell was just kinda lackluster and didn't really smell like anything. 
Feeling-the oil was really nice and didn't feel heavy in my root at all. It didn't get all over my pillowcase or sheets. The shampoo felt thick and oily, which I don't love, but I was surprised how well it rinsed out. I loved the in shower masque! It felt luxurious and rich. The masque is a product that I normally wouldn't use, but after rinsing it-I can't wait to use it again! The conditioner was nice and rinsed out super well. During my final rinse, I wasn't completely sold on if my hair would have any difference to it.
Aftermath-I opted to not put anything else in my hair so I could see what the hype was about. I blew it dry and was surprised how nice it felt. I straightened like I normally do and saw it had a nice bounce and feel to it. It wasn't frizzy and it didn't feel heavy. I was really happy with the final outcome!
Will I buy?-I will definitely keep my eye on the site and if there's a sale, I will be purchasing either the oil or masque for sure!And rumor has it they have a platinum line, so I'll definitely be picking that up to give it a try!

To Purchase;

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Happy Release Day!

SummerSeduction-SBPRBANNER-ReleaseBlitz.jpg
Summer Seduction by Rachel Van Dyken
Series: Cruel Summer #2
Publication Date: August 30, 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Synopsis:I wanted revenge.
And I got it in the best way possible.
Ray has always driven me insane, now that we're older, all I want is to make her feel the pain she put me through for four years.
And then suddenly, everything shifts and I realize I just want her,
It's bad enough that I'm the camp director — her boss.
Our love is equal to our hate for one another and the burning tension between us refuses to relent. If anything it's gotten worse.
I push her.
She pushes back.
Passion, whether it be born of love or hate — is a powerful beast, one I'm refusing to tame.
Marlo and Ray's story continues…
SummersSeduction-AN.jpg
Buy now!
Summer Seduction:
iBooks: https://goo.gl/3H47Cm
Pre-Order Today!
Summer Nights
iBooks: https://goo.gl/RySbbj
Read Today!
Summer Heat
iBooks: https://goo.gl/chcnKy
Add to Goodreads:http://bit.ly/2AvLA6v
SummerSeduction-TEASER1.jpg
Meet the Author:
Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she's not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.
She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband, adorable son, and two snoring boxers! She loves to hear from readers!
Connect with the Author:

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Reads | Summer Recs!

Originally seen in the summer issue of #NEXTonSCENE Magazine!


Is there any better place than by the beach or pool to enjoy a good book? Reading in the sun is one of my favorite things to do. Not sure what to read? Don't worry, I have beach reads of all types for you! Below are my book recommendations for this summer. 



For the hopeless romantic:
A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart
Squeeze Play by Aven Ellis 
One Small Thing by Erin Watt
Yours to Bare by Jessica Hawkins
The Force of Gravity by Kelly Stevenson
To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han
 

Thrillers & Mysteries-which are my personal fave genre to read on the beach:
Lie to Me by J.T. Ellison
Pretty Dead Girls by Monica Murphy
The Heiresses by Sara Shepard
Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris
The Next Girl by Carla Kovach
You by Caroline Kepnes



Chick Lit:
It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover
By Invitation Only by Dorothea Benton Frank
The Six: Kristy by Samantha March
Bon Bons to Yoga Pants by Katie Cross
Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella
Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner

Have you read anything good this summer? Let me know so I can add it to my growing TBR list, xo!